Unexpected HBA1c result

Inchindown

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Other
I got the results of my latest hba1c blood test today. I have to say I was shocked by the result.

My previous test gave a figure of 55.

The result today was 50.

The reason I'm shocked is since my previous test i have been fighting a losing battle with my binge eating disorder .

In other words, I have been wolfing down carrier bags full of junk food for the last 3 months and my test score actually improved.

I challenged the diabetes nurse about this result but she said she was happy with the result and I didn't need another test for 6 months.

So given the knowledge of what I've eaten over the last 3 months, should I trust my latest result.

If I can eat what I have eaten over the last 3 months and end up with an hba1c score of 50 I'm beginning to wonder if I really have type 2.

Any thoughts are welcome.

Reactions: Kevin259

novorapidboi26

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
That's likely the culprit then.......

With the medication you are dealing better with the glucose in your system.....and of course you should be absorbing less too if the metformin is doing its job....

You will see better improvements if you cut out the carbs obviously and more likely to stave off deterioration and possible insulin dependency in the future...

It is likely you are diabetic but with diet and exercise and medication too the symptoms of it can be eliminated...

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only