vegetarian low-carb and newly diagnosed t2

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi, recently diagnosed t2 and although I am a retired nurse finding it quite hard to get my diet sorted. I have always loved carbs and find it really hard to reduce my daily intake.
Waiting to attend DESMOND but in meantime any tips for a struggling veggie?

dawnmc

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
Stir fries, which I'm sure you have already, its harder but doable. On Amazon there are some good low carb cook books. But google it first - lots of recipes for it. Make sure you get your B vitamins.
I was vegetarian when I was diagnosed, I think I lasted 9 mths more as a veggie but had to give up as my diet was limited.
But if you are a committed cook (I'm not) you can do it.
Test though, especially if you have pulses, I found I couldn't even eat those.

Reactions: lorraine95
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Thanks for your suggestions. Was trying vegan diet when diagnosed but also anemic:-(
Have added eggs but can't eat meat. Been veggie for 30+ years

K

Kat100

Hi veggie all my life, t2 for one year, that's 50 years of no meat or fish, need b12 and iron....

I have reduced portions, miss my fruit, still use herbs and spices, just have reduced my portions, and increased my exercise, I take metformin.....not easy, but hope you find meals you enjoy Kat

Reactions: Hammer1964

Etty

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Reactions: Hammer1964

csko

Hi, recently diagnosed t2 and although I am a retired nurse finding it quite hard to get my diet sorted. I have always loved carbs and find it really hard to reduce my daily intake.