yogurt

david200110

Does anyone know of a brand of yogurt which is low fat and low sugar?
I can find plenty which say low fat but am unsure about low sugar. I'm new to all this and find the labels impossible to understand.

Thanks for any help.

david

bowell

Dislikes
Tablets, Mums with pushchair who push in ,Bus and WC
Only Low fat and low suger yogurt
I found are at M&S food hall

I’m OK
Its all the others
First HbA1c 11.9

Sukaren

I make my own with Easiyo, they do several unsweetened variaties! really easy to make and works out cheaper than being it in tubs.

LesleyB

Rowan Glen are low sugar I think, but there are only 2 flavours that I have seen, Rhubarb and Raspberry. They are lovely.

chocoholic

Tesco's Diet Irish Yoghurts are low fat and have artificial sweeteners.
I buy Little Rachel's yoghurts marketed for babies(just because they have a piccie of a baby on doesn't mean us diabetic adults can't eat 'em). They are sweetened with a little apple juice instead of sugar or sweeteners and come in 4 packs of assorted flavours.I don't think the Rachel's ones are low fat but if you don't over-indulge, a single pot can't be too bad for you.

david200110

I just received my membership pack for Diabetes UK and there was a leaflet inside for Mullerlight yogurt.
It says it is virtually fat free [ 96 calories per pot ] and "contains only moderate amounts of sugar [ mainly from the milk and fruit ].

Does anyone here know anything about Mullerlight being good for diabetics?

david

fergusc

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
David,

You wouldn't be first person to have been mislead by DUK's dietary advice. There is no need to eat low-fat anything! Sarah's quite right that it's the carbohydrates that will harm you. And low-fat versions of foods always contain more carbohydrates.

Do yourself a favour and buy full fat stuff!

All the best,

fergusc

david200110