Young Type One Newbie

Moparp

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hello!!
My name is Mesha. I'm 20 years old and I'm completely new here.
I was admitted to hospital Friday 26th June after an ambulance was called when I was feeling very unwell at home. Wasn't feeling to hot for a number of weeks but this particular evening was horrendous. Was diagnosed there and then with very serious ketoacidosis and type one diabetes. My mum was told my blood was the consistency of vinegar, yuck! I spent until Saturday afternoon in intensive care and was kept a very close eye on before being taken to a short stay ward where I recovered. I was free to go home in the afternoon on Tuesday 30th June.
I only know one guy I studied with who is type 2 diabetic and someone I work with has a son that is type one diabetic. None of my family or close friends are diabetic so we literally had no idea about the condition at all. Was quite a shock at first! Lucky I'm a quick learner eh? haha. Everyone has been so so so helpful (except the surgery, but that's a whole different story). But as I'm new I thought I would put myself out there and say hello, and if anyone wants to share anything feel free. I am all ears:) Would appreciate any advice, tips, random facts. There is always something new to learn.
Thank you for your time <3

axle 222

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to do what I would like to be able to do
Welcome to the forum,I'm new too but receiving lots of help...wishing you well...

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.
Hello!!