I've been hovering on the edge of prediabetes for almost 5 years and now it's finally happened.

gardengnome42

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
diabetes and dieting
Despite my best efforts I've tipped over into prediabetes and am feeling pretty upset about it. Five years ago when I was 70 a health check found I had hypertension and subsequently I found out the HbA1c was 41. As I had recently been diagnosed with osteoarthritis I determined to lose 3 stone, and although I take medication for the blood pressure, it is well controlled.

I have an HbA1c test annually as part of the BP review and it has been 41, 39, 41, 40 and now suddenly it is 43. I don't know where that came from and have been told to make a 20 minute appointment to see the nurse next week. What I wonder is she likely to do/say other than some patronising talk on how to live my life according the the NHS. Do they give oral glucose tests these days or fasting glucose tests or does the HbA1c cover everything?

I cook from scratch, use almost no salt, drink rarely and walk 3/4 hr daily with the dog, plus working every day in our large garden.. My BMI is 19 and I weigh 58 kilos; I could not realistically lose more weight. 2years ago my then dr said the A1c would rise [he was very sure] and when it reached close to 48 he would have Metformin for me. What did he know that I didn't I wondered, but determined it would not happen to me and yet it's getting there.

I do not eat much bread, rice or pasta or potatoes but plenty of carbs in the way of fruit. I don't realistically see what more I can do, at least on a sustainable level. Where do I go to from here to avoid full blown T2?

Resurgam

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2 (in remission!)
Treatment type
Diet only