Wife of T1D concerned about Covid

Wifeoftype1

Hi, I'm brand new to this, my husband is T1D and suggested we join the forum to find out more info.
I'm currently really anxious about him going out and about to work etc because of the Covid situation.
Are there any other partners of T1D feeling this?
I don't understand how T1D wasn't on the shielding list, but they're in the top list for getting the vaccine?

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Bullies, Liars, Trolls and dishonest cruel people
HI, I am number 6 on the vaccine list and that's fine for me. Many of us type 1's still work ( I travel to school with children who have SEN) but we are not at the top of the vaccine list.
Distancing, washing hands, hand gel and wearing masks is the best way.
Take care.

Alexandra100

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Distancing, washing hands, hand gel and wearing masks is the best way.
Don't forget ventilation - belatedly now being advised by the NHS:

upload_2020-12-2_18-42-20.jpeg

Reactions: sleepster

NicoleC1971

BANNED
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
The vaccine priority list is a good reflection of the risks for diabetics. We also have a lot of data on actual risks and know that advanced age is 22 x risk factor whereas diabetes type 1 is 3x. 3 x of what? The population mortality risk is estimated to be 0.3-0.7% with the higher end being somewhere like NY where more people are fat, diabetic and/or vitamin D deficient. That gives me type 1 with no other issues out at 0.9-2.1% risk of death also comparable to the length of various daily car journeys if you frame it in terms of something we do without much thought of the risk.