Freestyle Libre 2 accuracy

Eurobuff

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi. I’m new to this. First day in fact. I’ve got the sensor 2 and I am using my phone and the freestyle Libre app to scan the sensor. I looked at the posts on the forum and saw that many people suggested to put the patch on then leave it 24 hours before activating it. So this is what I did. Put the sensor on Thursday tea time and activated it Friday tea time. I had started to eat at 6pm, my sensor was active at 6.25 and my scan was 5.8, 15 mins later 7.8, 3/4ht after 9.5, 25 mins later 5.7. I thought these seemed a bit erratic. So I did a finger prick check 7.8, waited 12 mins and then scanned 5.7? This seems a bit of a difference?

Is this a faulty sensor or does it need more settling in time?

kaylz91

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
If reported it would need to have been showing consistent inaccuracy for a minimum of 24 hours, they ask for at least 3 comparisons to a finger prick and the scan to have been done 15 minutes after the finger prick, I'd leave it until later on tomorrow before coming to a decision personally xx

Reactions: Eurobuff

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi,

What would you get if you where to scan, then 20 minutes later take a meter test from a finger on the same arm as the sensor?

Eurobuff

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi,

What would you get if you where to scan, then 20 minutes later take a meter test from a finger on the same arm as the sensor?

Haven’t tried that. I will give it a whirl

Eurobuff

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi,

Ahhhh.

Finger prick 6.6
Sensor exactly 20 mins later 7.0

Reactions: Jaylee

Jaylee

Oracle
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Haven’t tried that. I will give it a whirl

There is a 20 minute lag with a meter. It's why some say when lows treated it's not moved?