anyone got a CGBM?

johnny37

I have been pumping for two years and my control is no better than it was then. Last HBA1c was 7.6. This was only achieved with lots of highs, lows and corrections, not unlike when I was on MDI. I am wondering if a CGBM would help. I believe it gives you a signal when you are high or low so that you can take immediate action. My endo says no chance due to cost. Is there anyone out there who is on CGBM? How easy (or not) is it to get one? Do they help get more level figures?

btw, is 7.6 acceptable?

No lectures about getting the basals right, please!

Thanks

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
johnny37 said:
No lectures about getting the basals right, please!

Thanks
Well something obviously is not right :shock: As to an A1c of 7.6 being aceptable, in my book no far from it. Are you happy with that result and what does your consulatnt think?
As to getting a CGM, it's quite easy as long as you have the money to buy one plus the sensors. Just ring up the companies that sell them.
In all honesty though as you haven't got the hang of the pump and programing it correctly then you would be wasting your money on a CGM :( They are not 100% reliable anyway.

Have you come across the book pumping insulin by John Walsh? It's known as the pumpers Bible. It can be found on Amazon and will be the best investment you ever make if you haven't already done so.

Cheryl

I disagree with CarbsRok. My basals are spot on, I've fasted & fasted to prove it yet I still get double figures after every meal & many many hypos 4-6 hours later plus no consistency.