Calories in/Calories Out AND/OR Low Carb

JoeT1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hopefully the title isn't too misleading. I have been eating Keto for a couple of months now, and after the initial bit of weight loss (now 7lbs), I have found that I have been more stable now or on a weekend even occasionally gaining a little weight, even eating keto.

One thing I have noticed is the argument going around that it's all about calories in vs calories out, rather than the carb intake. I have also seen the other side of the argument in low carb equals less insulin, so lower fat storage and weight loss. Surely it's a mixture of both though? I added in some nuts, and probably was having 2-300calories of the stuff each day without realizing as it was only about 4 or 5 at a time, but built up over an evening. This has probably led to a plateu in weight loss, so once I take them out, and cut the keto bread to minimum on a weekend, the weight starts to come off again.

So, I guess my main question is, when somebody is wanting to lose weight, should it not be pushed to reduce carbs, but also to reduce calories, rather than some posts I have seen that you can eat a large amount of fat?

Thanks.

D

Deleted Account

Not an answer to your question ... just another question (sorry)

I'm intrigued to understand why you are only looking at what goes in and have not suggested increasing the calories out (as your title suggested) with exercise.
I appreciate this may not be an option for everyone but it is the approach I adopt to maintain my weight and often wondered why there is such a great focus on diet rather than a combination of diet and exercise.

Just curious.

Reactions: JoeT1

JoeT1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Not an answer to your question ... just another question (sorry)

I'm intrigued to understand why you are only looking at what goes in and have not suggested increasing the calories out (as your title suggested) with exercise.