Can anyone please explain this?

TooManyCrisps

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I am relatively new to testing, and am still trying to work out what raises my blood sugar, so am testing pre and post every meal.

Today I tested at 12.30, just before I planned to eat my lunch. It was 6.1. However, I then had to go and deal with a work crisis which meant that I didn't eat as planned, and ended up in a meeting for over an hour. So just before I finally ate lunch, I tested again at 13.45, thinking bg would have dropped further as I hadn't eaten since 7am, only to get a reading of 7.3. I retested in case it was an anomoly, but the second reading was 7.4.

So, why would my bg rise at lunchtime when I hadn't eaten? Did my liver dumping more glucose into my bloodstream because I didn't eat lunch at the usual time, and if so, why? I'm used to getting a higher reading after exercise, even when I haven't eaten, but all I did was sit in a meeting. :(

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.
Crisis?? Did this raise your stress levels?

TooManyCrisps

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi, I don't think I was that stressed about it but maybe I was. Although I spent most of the unexpected meeting thinking about my lunch in the fridge waiting for me! The meeting was partly virtual - two of the attendees were linked in via Skype- which means there's always a slight delay where you can see their mouths move before you hear what they are saying. That always distracts me, especially as sometimes I start talking at the same time as the virtual attendees. I sometimes think that I'm too old for modern working styles!

But seriously, I think I was more stressed by not eating my lunch than by the meeting. Everything was resolved fairly quickly.

Rosie1953

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)