Carb Counting?

mhoggarth

Hi Everyone.

I was diagnosed Type 1 in September and took the new well and have been handling my level very well since the beginning. My current dosages are NovaRapid 3 times a day (before each meal) and glargine at night time.
Currently i am studying at university and this system works well for me as i can eat around my lectures. At my last meeting with my Diabetic Nurse, she recommended moving on to counting carbs. However im not sure if i should as i am doing very well on this system, and it works with my uni lectures. Would it be better for me to change to carb counting?

Many Thanks
Mark

Grazer

Hi Mark, can't help you as I'm a type 2; just wanted to say welcome! I'm sure you'll get some info soon, bit late so could be tomorrow now. Good luck!

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Hi Mark,

Provided your bg levels are fine then don't feel pressurised to change if you are happy with your present routine, carb counting does give you greater flexibility to eat more/less carbohydrates at mealtimes and adjust your insulin to suit and most people do find this a very useful tool in their diabetes management.

Just change over at a time more suitable to your circumstances! :)

AMBrennan

Carb counting allows you to vary meal sizes; however, you can obviously continue eating what you are eating now with the carb counting method (I.e. Trivial carb counting). As such, it wouldn't be more difficult to fit into your schedule than your current regime whilst allowing you to eat more (or less, or different things) depending on how you feel on the day

mhoggarth

Hi guys,