Carbs per meal

cazuk

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Insulin
Morning all,
I am a newbie so do excuse me if I am in the wrong place.
My husband was diagnosed with Diabetes on 29th January 2014, on top of his MS another thing to challenge us.
I noticed he wasnt feeling too well and a very dry mouth and quite confused he was admitted to hospital and his bloods have been sent away to Exeter to have an antibody test all which we have been told will take 6 weeks. The reason for this is hubby had ketones in his urine and they are not sure which type diabetes he has. He is being treated at present as if he has Type 1 with insulin twice a day and metformin morning and evening.

Do you know how many carbs per meal he should be eating?
We have yet to see the community diabetic nurse but hopefully when we do we will be told more.

Thanks

Caz

pavlosn

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi and Welcome

Sorry to hear about your husband's diagnosis.

Here's a link to some basic information usually given to the newly diagnosed who find there way to this forum.

http://www.diabetes.co.uk/forum/ind...-Newly-Diagnosed-Diabetics.26870/#post-247834

You are obviously a newbie otherwise you would know what a can of worms you have opened by asking how many carbs should be included in each meal. It is a major issue of contention.

My take on it is that he should restrict carb intake so as to keep his blood glucose levels two hours after a meal within 2 mmol/l of his pre meal level. Of course in order to know what this levels are, he will need to self test for which he will obviously need a glucose meter.

It is quite a lot to take in when first diagnosed, and it does not help when the advice given by doctors and dietitians often contradicts what other diabetics advise based on their own experience. Give it a bid of time and everything will become clearer and routine.

On the meantime use this forum to clarify what may not appear clear.

Take care

Pavlos