1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2019 »
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

cgm libre unwanted truths in blood sugar management

Discussion in 'Eating disorders and diabetes' started by ert, May 27, 2019.

1. ert

ert Type 1 · Well-Known Member

Three days in with a cgm and I've discovered:
    Running for 50 minutes elevates my blood sugars for 8 hours. I've been doing this daily for two years without any knowledge of the consequences.
    Eating breakfast spikes my blood sugars for 6-8 hours. I think my insulin is lower than low overnight so having only cream with coffee elevates what little insulin I have so that lunch (which is my breakfast) doesn't spike my blood sugars.
    Heavy weights drop my blood sugars like a stone.

Who would have thought? It shows the danger of making decisions without enough data. Maybe my next 3 month HbA1c will be finally under 5.7%.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    #1 ert, May 27, 2019 at 8:33 PM
    Last edited: May 27, 2019
  2. Juicyj

Juicyj Type 1 · Moderator
    Staff Member