1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2019 »
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Change Of Brand Of Metformin

Discussion in 'Metformin/Biguanides' started by Sharon_1, Aug 21, 2016.

1. Sharon_1

Sharon_1 Type 2 · Active Member

Hi everyone. Hope you are all doing ok.

I have been using Teva brand of Metformin for a couple of years now very successfully and when I picked up my recent prescription I was given the Actavis brand.

Just wondered which brands were most people on for Type 2.

I'm feeling anxious about changing brands.

Any help would be really gratefully received.

Take care.

Shazzie

2. ally1

ally1 Type 2 · Expert

I have often been given different brands of metformin and have not noticed any effects with different brands

3. Sharon_1

Thanks so much for your reply.

I must stop googling things.

Shazzie

4. ally1

ally1 Type 2 · Expert

I was lucky, but other members might be different

5. dog-man

dog-man Type 2 · Member

I often get different brands from the chemist and have not noticed any difference.

6. Sharon_1

Thanks for replying. Sounds like I've been worrying about nothing.

My blood glucose has been brill on the Teva brand and I've also lost 2.5 stone. Fingers crossed this continues on the Actavis brand.

Thanks agagin.

Shazzie

• Like Like x 1
  7. al_leister

al_leister Type 2 · Well-Known Member

Different brands over 6 years; nothing to report:)

8. spendercat

spendercat Type 2 · Well-Known Member