Complaint made about me using my flexpen in staffroom

Jojo17

Hi,

I'm new to this forum, I am seeking out some support.

I have type 1 diabetes. I've been diabetic for 10 years now. I worked as a teaching assistant at a primary school. I've worked there for 5 years.

I've just calmed down after being called into the headteacher's office to be told that a couple of people have approached her to complain that I test my blood and inject while eating my lunch in the staff room... it makes them feel queasy! I was told I could use an office.

I couldn't believe my reaction... I burst into tears in front of her. I use a pen style injection and don't draw attention to the fact that I'm injecting. I use the DAFNE programme, so I test then eat, work out the carbs I've just eaten and then inject.

As it has been part of my life now for such a long time I just get on with it but I can't understand why I feel so upset and offended, or that people have taken the time to make such a complaint to my boss.

I now have to find the courage to sit in the staffroom and wonder who amongst my friends and collegues could do this to me and make a complaint. I just hope that they never have to cope with this disease or are ever made to feel like I was made to feel today.

cugila

Master
Dislikes
People who are touchy.......feign indignation at the slightest thing. Hypocrites, bullies and cowards.
This is so sad.......

You are a Type 1 who has to use Insulin or your life could be in danger. The people who complained deserve your contempt for doing what they did. The remedy is in their hands......look away.

I suppose it is something that they have told you you can use an office to test and inject but frankly you should stand your ground and if needed involve the Occupational Health Dept as this appears to be discrimination on health grounds. Is there a specific rule which prevents you taking your medication and drugs in the staffroom ? Are you in a Union ?