Concerns

Welshman1952

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi folks. As some of you will know, I am a newbie to testing, having only been diagnosed about 3 weeks so. As I explained elsewhere, I rather expected to be told I was T2 so started on a campaign to change my diet and lose weight. Since then, I have lost over a stone and my readings have generally been n the range 4.8 - 5.8.

However, in the last couple of days things seem to be a bit different. My bedtime reading last night was 7.8 and fasting this am after 8 hrs sleep was 5.3. Although a bit unhappy about the bedtime reading, I dismissed it as 'one of those things'. I hadn't eaten anything different or unusual.

This morning after breakfast I discovered my BG reading was 8.2 and this was after my usual breakfast of muesli with berries. Normally my post breakfast readings are much lower. I tested on the same finger, using strips from the same box. Am I doing some thing wrong? My diet is substantially a LCHF diet, although I tweak it as I am Vegan.

I am probably worrying about nothing, but I am really concerned. Any ideas?

Bluetit1802

Legend
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Did you do all the usual recommended things such as very clean, dry hands? Did you re-test these unusually high readings? We all get rogue strips from time to time, so always worth some re-tests when that happens.

Reactions: 2 people

Welshman1952

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Thanks for the replies. @Avocado Sevenfold I don't think I am coming down with anything. In fact I really feel well. I am going to try and take your advice and not worry about it - maybe things will balance out over the coming days.

@Bluetit1802 yes I was scrupulously clean before testing. However I didn't retest! Maybe if there is a next time I will learn from this one.

Lamont D

Oracle
Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes