Confused newbie here: Low-carb or non-low-carb diet?

FredFish

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
I only got diagnosed with type 2 diabetes yesterday and know nothing about what diet to follow. Apparently this is a contentious issue? I was really hoping for clear cut advice regarding diet. What is the general consensus on this issue?

Grazer

Hi and welcome! You don't need to either low carb or non-low carb. You need to eat the level of carbs that you can tolerate.
Here is some info which hopefully might help you get to grips with your Diabetes.
In general terms you will need to reduce the total number of carbohydrates you eat per day. All carbohydrates turn to sugar when we eat them, and no type 2 diabetic on diet only, or on diet and metformin only, can control their blood sugars (BGs) without controlling their carb intake. Even those on strong medication normally choose to control their carb intake to keep the level of medication they take down. The total number of carbs per day you can eat depends on how advanced your diabetes is. It’s perhaps worth starting at about 50% of normal levels for a non-diabetic then adjusting up or down according to how you get on. So that means eating 150 grams of carbs per day for a man, 125 for a woman. You can read the total carb content of food under “nutritional info” on the packet or wrapping, or look it up on the internet for loose food. Just google “carb content..”
You also need to stop or reduce the bad carbs; that is the starchy ones that make your BG go up quickly.