Daily Blood Sugars

shaneo

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Other
Hello all.
For the past month and a half or so I have had an acute increase in urination frequency, in addition to bizarre onsets of fatigue.
As a med student my mind hyperchondric mind jumped to diabetes and I booked an appointment with my gp. In the meantime I tested my urine and found glucose negative with slight increase of ketones.
After a normal FBG of 5.2mmol/l, I was dismissed and I agreed it was a probably some kind of uti. However the symptoms persisted far beyond the time of any bladder infection(literally pissing every 1-2.5 hours regardless of fluid consumption)
and worse I began to notice brief episodes of blurred vision following high carb meals.I also noticed a definitive reduction in frequency when I fasted during tthe day.
I returned to the gp and demanded a hba1c to which the result was 28mmol/l, lower than the average nondiabetic!
I then did a GTT which had a fasting 4.3 and post prandial 6.2. So we all agree I don't have t2, as I do too. And yet, to this day since early august I need to go every 2 hours and every time it is a clear high volume (15+/-5 second long) visit to the toilet. It is maddening getting up constantly at night, and these vision changes persist. I bought a BG meter and have had normal readings mostly, nothing over 6.5 over the course of a week and half bar a random pp of 8.6....has anybody had an experience like this!?

jack412

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
we all agree you're not diabetic, but what tests is he running? you may need to go back to the Dr and get a referral to a real Dr

The most common causes of frequent urination are diabetes, pregnancy and prostate problems.
Other causes of frequent urination include:
◾Anxiety
◾Medication, for example diuretics
◾Stroke, or other brain or nervous system condition
◾Infection of the prostate gland (prostatitis)
◾Enlarged prostate
◾Kidney infection