Dental x-ray

caretaker

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Has anyone had a problems or concerns about wearing there pump and having an x-ray at the dentist .

Reactions: 3 people

dancer

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I take mine off, as that's what Medtronic say. If my husband isn't there to look after it, I give it to a nurse/receptionist until I've had the X-Ray.

My dentist took a note of the necessity to remove the pump, so that his colleagues would know about this.

Reactions: 4 people

CarbsRok

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
pasta ice cream and chocolate
Animas say to take the pump off as well. It's a case of checking in your manual for your pump. :)

Reactions: 3 people

June_C

Type of diabetes
Prefer not to say
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
Diabetes, know it alls
I used to be a dental nurse (many years ago) and we always used to put a lead apron on the patient before the x-rays. Do they still do this? If so, wouldn't the apron protect the pump?

dancer

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
I used to be a dental nurse (many years ago) and we always used to put a lead apron on the patient before the x-rays. Do they still do this? If so, wouldn't the apron protect the pump?

Don't think they do that any more.

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Has anyone had a problems or concerns about wearing there pump and having an x-ray at the dentist .

I'm so pleased you've brought this up Caretaker as I'd never give this a second thought, I thought the Omnipod manual said that X-rays were fine but on checking it would seem that the Pod has to be removed and placed outside the treatment area together with the PDM.

Trouble is if you remove the Pod you can't just put it back on and have to replace it with a new one, so I'll be asking if they use a lead apron (as JuneC says) in my dental practice to protect things like pumps.