Depression and Denial...Newbie.

gingercat

Hello, I am a newbie to this site. I must say how nice and friendly everyone is!

I am 40 years old and was diagnosed with T2 a few months ago. However, I do suffer with a mental illness which also affects my self esteem and self worth. I also have a lot of personal problems including social services intervention with my 4 children; my youngest has severe autism, global development delay and communication delay. All my children were premature from 27 weeks to 29 weeks, I had pre-eclampsia. All of them have difficulties of some kind: my eldest son has aspergers, my daughter ADHD and a heart condition, her twin brother has behavioual difficulties and my youngest has what I listed above. My depression was/is caused by an inability to forgive myself for 'inflicting' this lifelong disabilty on my darling youngest son. Yet he has made fantastic progress at the special school he attends, but still.. Anyway, my blood test Hab1(?) is at 13 (doctor says too high), my bg (done by the doctor) is in excess of 26, my cholestoral is 6.5, I have ++++ of sugar in wee and a trace of ketones. I don't eat too much but drink instead (not alcohol) I drink coffee with at least 4 sugars in and I love sugary drinks and the food I eat is very sweet. Even my morning bg (no breakfast and done my GP) was still 26. I have been prescribed metformin twice a day. But I am very erratic with taking it. My doctor is wonderful and is worried that I am not coping (she is aware of all the problems with social services and is supportive) with my diabetes and has told me she will admit me to hospital if I carry on.. I am tired, confused, dizzy, thirsty and wee alot..yet I feel that too guilty to treat myself and really don't know where or what I can do next. It is as if I believe I need to suffer as I have let my children down.