Devastated

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi all

My son was diagnosed with type 1 just 3 weeks ago.
Thank god he is well and has taken it on amazingly!
However I haven't! I'm devastated.
I've a million questions and theories buzzing about in my head!
I can't sleep, am constantly checking on him during the night, scared of him having a hypo.
Advice, support and looking for new friends xx

airliebird58

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi, I'm a newbie too, but it must be so scary when its your child that has the problem. I'm sure he'll be fine, kids seem to sail through changes that we would think are huge obstacles. Good luck to you both :) x

Reactions: 2 people

philchap1

Type of diabetes
Type 1
I was 7 when I was diagnosed and my biggest concern was no more sweets, I think children accept things a lot better than adults, my parents were brilliant with my diabetes and didn't stop me doing things everyone else did (except eating sweets) I have had diabetes for 48 years played rugby union until I was 40 and I'm still working as a plasterer, if you teach him the correct way to manage his diabetes anything is possible and with the way they are progressing a cure doesn't seem far away and there's a wealth of knowledge and experience on this forum to help you.

Reactions: 12 people

himtoo

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
mean people , gardening , dishonest people , and war.
why can't everyone get on........
Hi there @Mummy_of_a_type1_
welcome to the forum:)
I was 14 when diagnosed and through many years of discussing with my parents over the years know they felt shocked , guilty , sick with fear , unsure of the future .... and on and on .

the main thing for you to do now is to try and keep calm , not worry about errant blood tests or the odd hypo -- you are right that children adapt , usually much better than adults -- they accept things at face value.