Diabetes and Work performance

shelly456

I have type 1 diabetes for 20 years and I am a student nurse working in an extremely busy general surgical ward. As I am progressing with my training, I am getting increasing responsibility in regards to caring for my patients. Today my blood sugars were fluctuating throughout my 12 hour shift. I am under alot stress at the moment as I have alot of things going with assignments due in college, trying to achieve competancies in clinical practice, work a part time job, trying to see my boyfriend who now lives in another country, see my family and friends and study for end of year exams in May, so I've been overdoing it on the coffee, diet coke and the odd sweet to keep me going, not getting enough sleep or eating proper meals. I was so exhausted today at work I thought to myself what if I make a serious mistake at work and compromise a patient's safety because I'm not feeling my best?? My blood sugar levels were up and down all day I felt awful :( It really got me down today as it was the first time I felt like Diabetes was holding me back from something I really want to do and I just felt frustrated it was getting in the way of work! I don't need it to start acting up right now!!

Does anybody else feel that Diabetes can affect their overalll work performance?

anniep

Have you considered that stress and a workload like that would affect anybody's performance diabetic or not?

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Hi Shelly and welcome to the forum! :)