Diabetes eating sugary foods & self harm

lotuslight

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
I just briefly wanted to say I do this , and I can’t seem to stop. Usually if Iv argued with someone my other half or family member.

Chocolate is my downfall

It feels like a form of self hate and also comfort.I think the stigma of diabetes type 2 also.

I have seen other posts like this and I just wanted to share that I am now studying hypnotherapy.

I am really hoping I can help myself and I would love to share if it helps me with the self harm aspect.

It has helped me in other parts of life I’m really hopeful.

I have already lost a stone from it.fingers crossed

ianf0ster

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
Dislikes
exercise, phone calls
I overeat chocolate sometimes, but have managed to only do so with chocolate that is relatively low carb. Fortunately I like strongly flavoured chocolate so I eat up to a whole bar of 90% chocolate such as Lindt which is only 14gms of carbs per 100gm bar. Alternatively I may eat a whole 200gm block of cheese (almost zero carbs) or have a stiff drink with a low calorie mixer.
None of these do any serious damage to my status of being in Type 2 diabetes remission.

zand

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Yes I used to react to others in the same way as you. Nowadays I do the same as @ianf0ster

I have 90% or 99% dark chocolate. I find I don't need very much to keep me on an even keel as the taste is so strong. Not only does it do the trick in a non harmful low carb way, but it also helps alleviate the feelings of guilt. Dark chocolate and cacao contain an amino acid called tryptophan that your brain uses to produce the neurotransmitter serotonin, which can increase feelings of overall happiness. It also increases levels of dopamine, an important neurotransmitter critical for positive mood.