Diabetes Type 1 & Pregnancy

angela1986

Hi im 22 years old and i was diagnoised with type 1 diabetes last january! Ive had 2 miscarries since then due to my blood levels being poorly controlled...one at 6 weeks and one at 10 weeks. Im doing my best to try and control them but nothings happening. I really want a baby but im scared ill just loose it again. Can anyone give me advice on what to do and what to eat for 9 months...ive tried talking to my doctor about it but id like other peoples opinions esp women that have had babies. Replies would be really appreciated. Thanks

shews

Sorry to hear about whats happened so far. What is your hbA1c like?

I am 27 and type 1 and have just started trying for a baby (literally a few days ago!) so I'm not really experienced to advise you. I have had pretty eratic control for 15 yrs and then started to reduce my carbs to about 50g per day as on january. My hbA1c has reduced by 1% so far and my diabetic nurse suggested it should be below 7.5% before getting pregnant.

Low carbing has really helped my levels but during preganacy i think it is important to not be in ketosis at any time so if i do get pregnant i intend to raise my carb intake to approx 70g.

The only other advise i can think of is test at least 6 times per day so see if you are getting any undetected spikes during the day.

What are your typical diet and doses?

anniemai

Hello