Do these look like diabetic levels to you?

LouSarah

Hey all,

Just wanted to share my levels with you to get some feedback, thanks...

10/12
Fasting = 4.9
Hour after tea = 4.9 (not sure why it was this low? would walking 5 miles have anything to do with it?)

11/12
Fasting = 5.1
random mid afternoon test = 7.5 (about 2 hours after chicken breast and fries + kitkat).
Hour after tea = 6.5
today I walked 3miles

12/12
Hour after breakfast = 6.9
2 hours after tea = 7.4
today I walked 3 miles

13/12
hour after tea = 8.5
3 hours after tea = 7.1

14/12
Fasting BG = 4.6

So what do you think?
Thanks,

Lou

PS I am still experiancing almost all the diabetic symptoms (apart from weight loss basically) plus palpatations and migraines, during the past few days with these levels.

rach

I'm not an expert so I'd take most of what I say with a pinch of salt, but just some thoughts.

I wouldn't say that your levels are anything to acutely worry about - it'd be unlikely for you to have rapid onset type 1 for example if they're high but not really increasing in severity over the week.

Your fastings seem really pretty good - in terms of the qualifications for diabetes as such these levels I don't think would quite "qualify" you.

You post meals are a bit high however... and a bit slow to return to normal. Different people are set different targets but I was told to aim for less than 8 post meals, down to less than 6 by 3 hours later (apparently if I was non-diabetic you'd hope for return to less than 6 by 2 hours after food). However it must be remembered that this is for a "diabetic-style" diet ie no kitkats etc they perhaps skew it somewhat. You might find testing consistently 2 hours post meals helps build up a pattern though, as 1 hour post meal levels can vary significantly according to what you've eaten clouding how well your body is dealing with the sugar.