Do you keep pens in pocket during the day?

dnl.phillips

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi all i sometimes keep my fast acting insulin I my pocket during the day. Any risk here that the heat from my leg it affects the effectiveness or lifespan of the pen? I dont notice that it does anything adverse but I'm relatively new to t1. Do you do this too? Any pointers would be helpful.

Daniel

Reactions: 2 people

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
I wouldn't keep the pen in a pocket close to the body if there's a chance it can become too warm, you buy cooling wallets like Frio that help keep insulin cool and protected from warm temperatures.

copepod

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Depends on tightness of trousers - if they're cargo trousers, with fairly bulky pockets, and you're not out in dark trousers in bright sunshine for hours, then should be OK. I never found any temperature problems to carry my metal insulin pen in cargo paockets of army lightweight style olive green trousers when working as a country park ranger. Howover, I did once break an earlier plastic pen in the same conditions. So, a rigid case may be required. Depending on your work situation, it can be important to have pen and meter with you at all times, especially if you work on a large site and / or several sites. If driving, you need meter with you, and leaving a pen in a vehicle in sunny weather can mean it would get hotter than next to your leg.

You need to work out big picture of your situation - sorry I can't be more specific.

Reactions: 4 people

oldoaktree

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I wouldn't worry too much myself. I've just spent a month in North Africa with no cooling for my insulin. I tired to bury it as deep in my pack as possible but it did get very warm most days.