Extreme loss of appetite

princesskyra

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
My husband has just told me he thinks I've got an eating disorder, I have lost my appetite for the last couple of months or so and the past few says I have been ill and unable to eat, but before I became ill I just don't seem to be hungry any more I manage on half a meal a day and maybe a snack or two but thats it, if it is an eating disorder (which I don't think it is and he is over reacting) if I'm not hungry then surely I shouldn't force myself to eat?

Diabetes really pees me off at times!!

Emmotha

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi

I'm not an expert on this at all. But if you're only eating half a meal a day you won't be getting enough nutrients to stay healthy.

Have you consulted a doctor about your loss of appetite? I should.

Also, how are your blood sugars?

It sounds like your partner is trying to be supportive :)

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Your husband is right to be concerned, eating half a meal a day is not healthy and will only lead to problems further down the road, if you've not discussed this with your gp already then I strongly suggest you do.

Reactions: 3 people

donnellysdogs

Master
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
People that can't listen to other people's opinions.
People that can't say sorry.
It depends upon the basis of the snacks and portion size of the half a meal.....and the calorofic and nutients you ate getting through the meal and also the exercise that you do as well.