Fatty Liver and High fat, low carb diet

magicaldebs

Hi All
I have followed an Atkins type diet a few times in the past with good effect, both weight loss and diabetes control. I must do something again as my glucose levels have been unstable, despite increases in medication.
At a recent check my GP noted that my Liver Function tests were raised. They have been raised for around 15 years but apparently there has been a significant increase of late. I had a scan of my Liver which showed many Gall stones and a fatty Liver. The fatty Liver was expected but I am now wondering whether the high fat, low carb diet will have any effect, positive or negative on the fatty liver?
Any ideas?
Debs

pianoman

My opinion (and I am NOT a Doctor) is that: much like excess fat mass anywhere else on the body, it is dietary sugars & refined starches -- and not the dietary fat -- which has the greatest negative impact. I've been eating LCHF for over 3 years; my Liver Function Tests (LFTs) are normal. When I was initially diagnosed, I was tested using ultrasound & LFTs, and did have fatty liver at that time.

Dr Lustig explains how eating too much Fructose causes fatty Liver (amongst other things) here...

[youtube]dBnniua6-oM[/youtube]

It is well worth watching Dr Lustig but if you really can't spare the time here is a short version...

[youtube]tdMjKEncojQ[/youtube]

magicaldebs

Hi Fallenstar
No I'm not much of a drinker. I'll have the odd glass of wine on holiday or at Christmas. Probably the equivalent of a two or three bottles a year.

viviennem

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Other
Dislikes
Football. Bad manners.
I'd discuss it with your HCP. I've heard a theory that a low-fat diet can cause gallstones because the gall-bladder doesn't have enough work to do and the bile gets sluggish and thickens - but that could just be an urban myth. Talk to your GP.

Viv 8)

Jen&Khaleb

Dislikes
Not having enough time. Broken sleep.