1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2021 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Guest, stay home, stay safe, save the NHS. Stay up to date with information about keeping yourself and people around you safe here and GOV.UK: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Think you have symptoms? NHS 111 service is available here.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

Fear of going low and struggling to put weight on

Discussion in 'Eating disorders and diabetes' started by Kaffi-x, Dec 23, 2020.

1. Kaffi-x

Kaffi-x Type 1 · Newbie

Hi, my name is Kathy and this is my first time posting. I’m here to try and find some help or advice from other T1.

Before I was diagnosed T1 in 2015 I was average 50kg (I’m 5’3). To me it was a healthy weight and for the first two years of T1 I was able to maintain it and have semi good control of my sugar level. After a few episode of severe hypoglycaemia. I now have a fear of going low and major anxiety of it too. This had triggered my ED to come back and send my anxiety through the roof every time I think about food. My weight currently is 45kg and I’m feeling really slim and underweight and I am trying to put weight on but at the same time I’m scared to inject when I eat. This is causing me to be high and I’m finding it difficult to keep it within range. I feel I need some sort of therapy or help to deal with this as it’s really getting to me on a daily basis. I get nervous with the thought of food which also triggers my IBS which then makes me nervous to inject for any food. My anxiety is so bad I kind of get mini panic attacks.