Fear of going low and struggling to put weight on

Kaffi-x

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Hi, my name is Kathy and this is my first time posting. I’m here to try and find some help or advice from other T1.

Before I was diagnosed T1 in 2015 I was average 50kg (I’m 5’3). To me it was a healthy weight and for the first two years of T1 I was able to maintain it and have semi good control of my sugar level. After a few episode of severe hypoglycaemia. I now have a fear of going low and major anxiety of it too. This had triggered my ED to come back and send my anxiety through the roof every time I think about food. My weight currently is 45kg and I’m feeling really slim and underweight and I am trying to put weight on but at the same time I’m scared to inject when I eat. This is causing me to be high and I’m finding it difficult to keep it within range. I feel I need some sort of therapy or help to deal with this as it’s really getting to me on a daily basis. I get nervous with the thought of food which also triggers my IBS which then makes me nervous to inject for any food. My anxiety is so bad I kind of get mini panic attacks.

Please can anyone advice some kind of therapist or dr that can help me?

Thank you for reading

• Hug
Reactions: ianf0ster and JAT1

EllieM

Staff Member
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
forum bugs
I'm so sorry you are suffering. This is unfortunately an all too well known condition and I would urge you to contact your GP and diabetes clinic now. It's good that you are self aware enough to recognise your condition and ask for help.

I'm not sure of the resources available in the UK (or your country if not the UK) but if you are in the UK you could try phoning the diabetes helpline
20200529_NHS_diabetes_support.pdf (rackcdn.com)

Good luck.

urbanracer

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Not being able to eat as many chocolate digestives as I used to.