Feeling Cheated

Mark72

Hi All,

Up until today i have been a Train Driver, I was always on Metformin as my main control but about 6 months ago my consultant said that for my long term health and perfect control i would be better using a Nova Rapid Flex pen when required along side my Metformin. This i was told would keep my Hb1a readings stable and at the required standards to ensure my long term health. This i have been doing and have in my consultants own words fantasic control and a very good understanding and great attitude to keeping fit and managing my diabetes. However my work has now today at my Periodical medical and review health decided that I'm of too much of a risk to be allowed to carry on driving trains on the main line. They have permently restricted me and are now i find myself with the option of either becomming a manager or finding myself unemployed after 18 years of service to the company.

Basically what im asking is have any of you out there had anything like this done to you within your workplace once you were made a Type 1 and given Insulin. The Disability Act protects me a little but im not sure if it protects me enough really. There are others who refuse to take the doctors advice and carry on with tablets alone and are unwell and very overweight but because they are not using Insulin they are allowed to carry on driving trains. Its very hard to take i'm 37 years old with a beautiful family and its seems that even though i have never had a hypo or been in need of hospital help im deemed dangerous because i use an Insulin pen.

cugila

Master
Dislikes
People who are touchy.......feign indignation at the slightest thing. Hypocrites, bullies and cowards.
Hi Mark72.

Welcome to the forum. We have some confusion here. Are you a T2 on Insulin or a T1 ?

Ken

Mark72