Finger pricking - long term issues?

joelcam

Hi all,

I have been finger pricking 7 times a day since prognosis of T1 in Aug this year and am wondering what the long term side effects will be?

Ar present I can see lots of little red marks around the areas where I prick but don't have any issues or pain.

I know I am a newby so can any longer term affected people share any advice on things that may happen over time and also ways of preventing if possible?

Also, can I still get tattoo's done?

Thanks guys

JC

Dobbs

hi joelcam
a very good question, which I've been wondering about myself. I've only been pricking since May so am hardly well placed to reply, but after about four-hundred-and-something pricks I have no issues or problems at all. But I'm a total amateur compared to many people here!

hanadr

Expert
Dislikes
soaps on telly and people talking about the characters as if they were real.
Alternative site testing?????
hana

cugila

Master
Dislikes
People who are touchy.......feign indignation at the slightest thing. Hypocrites, bullies and cowards.
HANA ...... :D

AST should be discussed with your HCP's before using. :wink:

jopar

I've been stabing my fingers now for just over 21 years and don't have any problems...

The modern lancets are sooooo much better than the first ones, that where a flat piece of stainless still oblong at one end it slopped to a point, at first there was no gadgets you just stabbed your finger, which would take me ages and several missed attempts to get the courage to do it with my finger held agains the edge of a table... When they introduce a gadget this wasn't much better either, it was violent indeed, and believe me for 9 months while I was pegnant I had to do this 5 times a day... By the end I could have cried my poor little fingers were so sore..