Glucose meter without control solution?

RichardM

I'm new to this game, and there are a lot of these machines on the market.

What would ideally be useful would be a machine where

1) Accurate and easy to use (In practice, not just on the sales blurb!)
2) Consumables are reasonably priced
3) Does not need control solutions etc.

Does anyone use/know of machines that satify these criteria, and/or a web site that does direct comparisons of the various machines on the market?

Many thanks

Dennis

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
Dislikes
People who join web forums to be agressive and cause trouble
I used to use an Accu-check until I had it tested and found it was giving readings up to 60% out. I now use an Ascensia Contour, which I have also had tested and have found to absolutely accurate. It doesn't need recalibrating with control solution, gives a result in 5 seconds and is quite small so very easy to carry.

Forgot to mention it is made by Bayer Healthcare and a tub of 50 test strips (if you have to pay for them) is £25. But you should be able to get them on prescription if your diabetes is treated by medication.

Highmoor

I am not used to all this diabetes stuff too, was diagnosed on xmas eve 2007. They gave me a ascens contour meter too, with 50 strips, it works real good, and i think they have a 10% being out rate, but are very small, come with a little pocu and are real easy to fit on your belt or like i do stuff in my pocket. Tabs are expensive,so get them on prescription, and get your self a exemption card (pay up front for 3 months, cos youll go through the strips real fast, and it works out cheaper to pay up front.

bbsue