Halting Weight Loss

copey399

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
I've been doing lc/hf since the end of June 2015 and I have lost weight (albeit not fast or drastic) and gone from 12st8lbs to 10st2lbs. According to some BMI calculators I am in the normal range for my height (5ft3in) and age 72. Others say I should be under 10st.

The thing is, I look scrawny and haggard and I'm not sure I want to lose any more. My HBA1c in September 2015 was 53 or 7% = 8.6 average but as it was only 3 months into starting lc/hf I know I probably made mistakes so I'm hoping my next one might show more improvement. (My starting Hba1c was 57 = 9.1) so not a huge improvement but at least it's going down so far.

So how do I manage the BS without losing more weight? I'm sure I've seen this question before but I've searched and can't find anything and gave up so please could someone either advise or point me in the right direction if you know you've said it all before. Thank you xx

TorqPenderloin

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Do you do any kind of exercising that promotes muscle retention? How much protein are you eating each day?

Those are the two places I'd be assessing first if it were me.

Resistance training helps tremendously with insulin resistance, haunting (unhealthy) weight loss and avoiding bone density issues (osteoporosis) many women eventually face.

Reactions: 5 people

Southbeds

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
As somebody who used to look like Hitchcock and now looks like Gandhi I am happy with my weight loss and feel great