Hba1c Result of 54 - opinions please?

MrsMoose

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi,

I've just had my results from the nice but somewhat "clueless" receptionist.
my hba1c was 54. I test my bloods and am usually in the 8 or 9 range.
The nurse will want to discuss my lipids result?
The dr will want to discuss my liver function result (not urgent)

I'm not on any meds and am overweight but losing.
I'm just not sure how worried to be? I know I ought to wait til I've seen the Dr/nurse but any advise is appreciated.

J

Welshman1952

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi. Firstly, can I say I am no expert and no doctor, so anything I say needs to be treated with caution.

When I went to the doctor a few weeks ago, my HbA1c was 55 and on the basis of this and a few other test results, I was told I was T2. The dr was generally about as helpful as a subcutaneous cyst! However, she did keep her hands off the prescription pad and allowed me to look at my diet/ exercise. Two months down the road and I am already 2 stone lighter and rigidly follow a healthy diet. I am not a rigid LCHF aficionado, but I try to stick to it on thd whole. I also test regular!y to see what I can and can't eat (in my case, wheat, spuds, rice and pasta are out).

As a result, my average reading for the last month was 5.8!!!

All this has led me to conclude that while eating healthy may never cure me, it will certainly help me become healthier, fitter and feel younger.

Today I went for an MRI scan on my knee as it aches when I walk for any length of time. I suspect several stone of excess weight hasn't helped. In the coming weeks I hope to continue losing weight and (G-d wiling) before the end of summer I hope to pull out my trainers and run again.

Not bad for a 63year old who 2-months who saw his future as an old man in a wheelchair.. well this boy may be getting older, but he's gonna do it disgracefully!