Hello everyone! A quick question

lolita

Dislikes
bad manners!
This is my first time on the forum so please forgive me if i haven't posted in the right place! I was diagnosed type 2 two weeks ago. GTT 12.8, got results of HBA1C today - 7.5. The DNS has decided to start me on Metformin 500mgs once daily then if tolerated increase to 1000mgs daily in 2 weeks time. I have adopted the low carb approach ( in fact started low carbing for weight loss on 4th Jan this year and have lost 18 1bs) I have one main concern so far - my legs feel so weak, especially when climbing stairs. I did mention this to the nurse today and she said it was because i was low carbing and i therefore need to increase my carbs and eat lots of potatoes and rice. ( i have got myself a meter and i am testing 4 times daily for now) i know that potatoes in particular raise my blood glucose quite considerably. Any thought please! i am a bit confused :?

noblehead

Guru
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Disrespectful people
Lolta,

How many grams of carbs are you eating a day?

I know when I tried low-carbing that I also felt weak and tired, so I incresed my total to around 100-130g (reduced carbs) and have had no problem to date.

Nigel

John aka Wallycorker

Hi lolita,

You sound to be doing OK to me! I certainly wouldn't start to "eat lots of potatoes and rice". However, you will know that already because your meter will be telling you that approach doesn't make any sense whatsoever.

Maybe you are losing weight just a little bit too quickly because 18 lbs since 4th January sounds to be quite a lot. The health people recommend that you should try to lose at 1 to 2 lbs per week.

As far as stairs are concerned, you'll likely be bounding up them before too long.

My advice would be to stick with what you seem to be doing but just keep making small correcting adjustments - similar to what Nigel suggests - depending on what is happening or how you are feeling.