Hello, I'm new and want to help my T2 and pre-diabetic sisters.

LizRich

Hi. I am a retired nurse who has lived a keto then low carb life for about the last 25 years. I have a sister who died after surgery, of ketoacidosis. I have another sister who has been T2 for the last 10 years and third who developed Pre-diabetes.Over the years I've tried to help them but failed. I failed to help them because I couldn't help them understand how Carbs turn to glucose simply enough, and the advice they were getting from their diabetic nurse was at odds with my own way of eating. They are now both very interested in addressing their diabetes and are looking to me for advice. I was a health visitor so my slant on health is prevention, early detection and helping people improve their lifestyles within the resources they have. I am aware of the Diet Doctor, due to low carb eating but it is only this week that I have found and watched Dr David Unwin. What an inspiration! I have bought my T2 sister the Carbs and Calorie counter book for Christmas. 3 years ago she lost 2 stone with WW and over the last 6 months has lost early a stone following WW principles but her biggest achievement, and current motivation, is that her hba1c has improved. She has currently stalled but is determined to improve her bloods after Christmas. A fourth sister (overweight and non- medical) has been overbearing in telling them both that they must do intermittent fasting. Unfortunately this doesn't fit in with their lifestyles so both became disillusioned and confused. Anyway, I am going to refer them to this forum. My question to you is - what can I do to support them and would you advise that they use a glucometer to determine how the food they eat affects them? I have already picked up some tips from the Drs Unwin but I would appreciate advice from people who are living with T2 or are in remission. Thank you.

KateS14

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)