hello,newly diagnosed and feeling nervous

Hello

I am new to contributing to forums so feeling nervous about posting.

I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes on 2.4.13. Due to feeling unwell with various things during the winter, a blood test was taken after going to the doctor. Since then I have had a GTT showing 8 then 15(after 2hrs and lucozade) and then the test Hbac1? showing a reading of 73. I have to use diet and exercise to control. I have been trying very hard with this since first test showed high glucose levels(mid March). I saw the nurse and she was nice and helpful but had an awful consultation with doctor a few days ago. I felt very humiliated and demoralised and ten times worse than when I went in. I feel very confused as to what I can and can't eat I'm geting differing advice from various sources. Next appointment for another blood test will be beginning of June and although I have made dietary changes, taking regular exercise and losing weight I feel it may not be enough.

The Doctor advised that because of high sugar levels I should expect to feel unwell.(headaches and low energy main problem) Does anybody know how long it takes to start to feel better after changing diet and bringing down sugar levels?

Thanks

daisy1

Legend
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Dislikes
Cruelty towards animals.
Hi Onanotherplanet and welcome to the forum :)

Other members will be along soon to share their experiences with you and attempt to answer your questions from their own point of view. In the meantime, here is the information we give to new members which I hope will help you. Ask more questions and someone will come and answer you.

BASIC INFORMATION FOR NEWLY DIAGNOSED DIABETICS

Diabetes is the general term to describe people who have blood that is sweeter than normal. A number of different types of diabetes exist.