Help, Fussy newly diagnosed 2yr old won't eat!

helenamc72

HELP Please!!!! I am a mum to a newly diagnosed 2yr old (9th March 2009) who is refusing to eat anything but salt sticks, butter keks (type of biscuit sold in Germany) and the odd bit of plain pasta and as I am new to all this I don't know what else to try her with. This counting carbs thing is more tricky than I thought I used to just cook the food and dish it out and now it requires far more thought before making dinner than just bunging something in the oven!

It's bad enough that I am still trying to come to terms with the diagnosis but now that we are home I am getting more and more stressed by the fact Grace won't eat. Her BG Levels are all over the place one day they will be quite low so she doesn't need much insulin (Humalog) then other days it's rocketed to over 200mg/dl. I am trying my best but we have so little support out here as we are serving with the British Army out in Germany and are cared for by the military day to day and we don't see the consultant until 5th May so I am feeling a bit lost to say the least! :? Any help from other mums would really be appreciated. Thanks

Helena (mum to Grace, T1 newly diagnosed using a pump, more technology to get to grips with :shock: )

hanadr

Expert
Dislikes
soaps on telly and people talking about the characters as if they were real.
Have you tried puttin a selecion of goodies in front of Grace, things like pieces of cooked chicken, german ham and little bits of fruit and veggies?
Give Grace a choice of "bits", finger foods and then leave her to it, don't show your stress
I'm definitely no expert. My own daughter still won't eat properly and she's nearly 28 and a mother herself.
If it becomes impossible, try getting some of the low carb foods. You might have to order on-line. there's "low carb Megastore and Avid. I buy ingredients fron LCM and bake Fergus's bread for us.

jopar

Hi Helen