Help needed!

oldgreymare

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Commuting, overcrowded spaces, especially after the arrival of covid-19...
Hi all,

I was diagnosed at age 51 just over 6 months ago when initially welcome weight loss (35 kg in 10 months) just wasn't stopping, plus too much thirst, peeing, fatigue, infections, etc kicked in. Given ****** lifestyle for last 10 years, diabetes wasn't a surprise but discovering I'm type 1 (v low C peptide, v high GAD Ab) was.

I'm based in SE Asia with frequent travel to UK & USA. Have excellent GP & endo. Now on MDI (Lantus & Novorapid). Challenge is a complete lack of any standard routine (eating, exercise, work, sleeping, timezones, etc) in my life - diabetes control seems uniquely designed to torture me in this respect. I expect I'll eventually go to CGM & a pump, but hate the idea of anything attached to my body, plus tend to get skin reactions to adhesives...

I have a PhD in physiology so can interpret the science (and lack of) behind trying to fine tune insulin treatment, but my biggest problem to date is weight gain - since diagnosis gained 10kg in first 3 months on insulin.

This is 5 kg too much and this extra weight is literally driving me crazy (=clinically depressed). I know to many 5 kg may sound trivial and my BMI is 21 which on paper is great, but body fat of 32% gives more realistic picture.

I'm not always religious re bg testing, but have gone through intense phases analysing carbs, testing, insulin, etc and it looks like low carb coupled with lots of exercise (fortunately doesn't seem to send me higher) is the best route for me to keep both bg and weight controlled.

However, knowledge isn't enough - I fully understand and know what (and why) I need to do to be healthy & to get my bg under good control.

But knowing what I ought to do just isn't sufficiently motivating for a start/stop exerciser and 40+ yrs of carb loving binge eating habits...some aggressive support needed!

Thanks,