Help with choice

Mags52

Hi Folks
I've just been for the results of my annual diabetic check and was congratulated that my HBa1c was 6.4 on diet alone. All other results were good except that I am overweight BMI 29.
The GP agreed that I am doing all the right things with low carb diet and exercise but my weight has gone up about 3 kg in a year which is disappointing. He agreed that it can be a real problem for people with Type 2.
Anyway to my surprise he offered me a choice of either Orlistat or Reductil and suggested I go on the net and make my decision.
I always choose low fat products anyway so thought Reductil might be better but he insisted I take time to consider.
Has anyone got any experience of these two drugs or any wisdom to impart?
All the best
Mags

wiflib

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hi Mags,
I've no experience in weight-loss drugs, so can't help there.

One thing I did notice from your post is that you choose low-fat products. These are often high in carbs so could that be the answer to your weight gain?

Do you carb count, or like me, just don t eat visible carbs? If you feel up to it, you could post a typical days diet and some of the more experienced on here may be able to help.

I'm off for a cup of tea and a home-baked low-carb chocolate brownie. The first Low-carb baking I've done since diagnosis. It smells devine.

wiflib

Trinkwasser

http://www.alt-support-diabetes.org/NewlyDiagnosed.htm

Forget about the low fat for now, concentrate on the carbs. You may find you are eating too many at specific times of day, particularly for many of us in the morning.

Although fats contain more calories per gram they are also more satiating

http://mendosa.com/satiety.htm

also they reduce the impact of the carbs.

You're obviously heading in the right direction, use the above protocol to do some more fine tuning.

hanadr

Expert
Dislikes
soaps on telly and people talking about the characters as if they were real.