Hi folks. Wondering if I can get some feedback. I work as a hgv driver. I have full hypo awarenes

Steve1981

Hi guys. I work as a an HGV driver and each year I need to go through a consultation with the Dvla consultant. For the past 3 years I’ve been cruising through them. I meet the requirements. No severe hypo requiring assistance from another. And test my blood sugars at times relevant too driving. I have as far as I’m concerned excellent hypo awareness and normally feel a hypo in and around 4mmol. However the other day whilst out running I felt as if I was going low. I stopped and checked my blood sugar and I was 2.2 I treated this immediately myself and carried on with my run. This was a one off I’ve not been low as this for a very long time. And I check my sugar on average 10x a day because of my job I like to be safe. I’ve my Dvla consultation on the 4/5/21. And although I shouldn’t be worried because of this one reading I can’t help feeling a little anxious that I could be classed as hypo unaware. When I know I clearly am not.Any help from anyone or any medical professional would help me put this worry to the back of my head. Thanks guys

Last edited:

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hi @Steve1981 - Welcome to the forum :)