High bg and porridge

Carolyn_Lesley

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Hello there, I am a newbie and still learning to eat to my metre. I have always had porridge for breakfast but sometimes I get a big spike ( up to 13) an hour after going down ( between 5 and 6 sometimes just over 6) 2 hours after. Does this mean I can't eat porridge, I should reduce my portion size perhaps make with whole milk but smaller amount or is this ok. Is a high short lived peak normal!
Thank you in advance
Carolyn

Lamont D

Oracle
Type of diabetes
Reactive hypoglycemia
Treatment type
I do not have diabetes
Hello there, I am a newbie and still learning to eat to my metre. I have always had porridge for breakfast but sometimes I get a big spike ( up to 13) an hour after going down ( between 5 and 6 sometimes just over 6) 2 hours after. Does this mean I can't eat porridge, I should reduce my portion size perhaps make with whole milk but smaller amount or is this ok. Is a high short lived peak normal!
Thank you in advance
Carolyn
If it was me I would avoid the porridge, there is no reason to have something that spikes you so much!
Portion size can reduce your spike but going by your 2 hour post prandial, it shouldn't make much difference!

Carolyn_Lesley

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
Thank you, please, why wouldn't it make much difference going by my 2 hour reading? What is 'prandial'? And what would be an acceptable hour reading to get? Sometimes it is much less? Sorry for all the questions, I am still new! Thank you

sally and james

Type of diabetes
Family member
Treatment type
Diet only
@Carolyn_Lesley "Prandial" is posh for "eating". Pre-prandial is before eating, post-prandial is after eating.
A truly normal, healthy person will have only the smallest, briefest rise, whatever they eat, so 13 is way out. Our rule is Never over 7 at one hour, never over 6 at two hours. My husband keeps to this, usually del within. (I'm not diabetic, so don't test).