High blood sugars and dental problems

MichaelUK

Hi

Quick question, i am waiting on a dental appointment for a loose tooth and i have noticed i have had some crazy bloodglucose readings and was wondering if the dental problem is at the root of this or al least not helping i may have to try for an emergency appointment if you guys say it could be causing a problem, i went to book in june and my appotinment is 25 September at this rate the tooth will just fall out :(.

Any advice?

MIchael

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
No-one has replied but that may be because no-one knows of a connection between a tooth and diabetes. I certainly don't know of one.

hanadr

Expert
Dislikes
soaps on telly and people talking about the characters as if they were real.
Denwal problems CAN lead to erratic BG control. So my dentist says
Hana

Shell1

Type of diabetes
Parent
Treatment type
Pump
Hi I'm a dental nurse ,your blood may rise if you have a infection if your tootl is loose/mobile then if its got this way through a perio problem/gum disease this could defiantly be why your bloods are like they are,ring back up tell them the tooth is causing health problems and you need a urgent problem they should accommodate you the same day,

Sent from the Diabetes Forum App

Reactions: 2 people

anna29

Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
Cruelty to Animals/Children
Liars/Manipulators/Bullying
Any inflammation, infection, abcess , antibiotics , dental treatments can
certainly cause a spike and raise the blood sugars .

Your loose tooth may well be with some gum inflammation possibly?
If so - this can contribute to elevated blood sugars .
Best to vist your dentist and let them look at the situation .

It ALWAYS spikes with mine . . . :thumbdown:
I find it can take a few days for all to settle down after any treatment .

Leaves me feeling rough for a few days till things calm/settle back down .