high readings since taking metformin

sammy1998

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
hi, has anyone noticed that their blood sugar has risen since taking metformin? :(

hanadr

Expert
Dislikes
soaps on telly and people talking about the characters as if they were real.
I've been using Metformin since 2002. What raises my Bg depends on what I eat. I avoid carbs most of the time and keep to a range of 4.7 - 6.3. The only breads Iuse are Burgen Soya and linseed or Livlife., I eat no more that 2 baby new potatoes per meal or a single tablespoonful of rice. I don't have cakes or biscuits or anything with more than tiny amounts of sugar, either natural or added. It works, but takes a certain amount of committment. You can't expect Metformin to lower your Bg by much even at maximum doses. If you want to rely on medication to do all the work, you'll need something fiercer.
Hana

whompa73

Dislikes
Chavs
Hana is right ( sad face :( ) I am on the max dr will give and still not where I want them and the side affects are unpleasent spoke to dr today over phone when he wrang over somthing epse and ask about metformin sr but said possably when my bgs are more stable ( verry sad face :cry: ) I thing I need to visit the grrrrrrr thread as I feel a large one comming on

hanadr

Expert
Dislikes
soaps on telly and people talking about the characters as if they were real.
woompa73
My dose is minimal 2 x 500mg per day. I choose not to have any more medication, but it means I have to be careful with eating. It's not hard. I've got used to it. I also decided to keep to "near normal" blood sugars.
Hana

drguy

Type of diabetes
Other
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)