1. Get the Diabetes Forum App for your phone - available on iOS and Android.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, we'd love to know what you think about the forum! Take the Diabetes Forum Survey 2021 »
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Diabetes Forum should not be used in an emergency and does not replace your healthcare professional relationship. Posts can be seen by the public.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Guest, stay home, stay safe, save the NHS. Stay up to date with information about keeping yourself and people around you safe here and GOV.UK: Coronavirus (COVID-19). Think you have symptoms? NHS 111 service is available here.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Find support, ask questions and share your experiences. Join the community »

How Can I create awareness In India...?

Discussion in 'Type 1 Diabetes' started by priyankakedia, Jun 28, 2013.

1. priyankakedia

priyankakedia · Member

Hi everyone,
    I am Priyanka, a Type-1 diabetic for almost 10 years now. I am a resident in India. People in India are very much less aware about type-1 diabetics as minimal percentage of people are suffering from this disorder. Although diabetics is much more prevalent.
    When anyone hear that girls at their young age has to take insulin injections they get shock. Because of this little awareness, all type-1's are facing problems with regard to their marriage especially girls.
    How can we change their attitude and mindset with respect to this disease...? Can anyone suggest some ideas in this regard. Does life involve many complications at a later stage in life?
    Does being a Type-1 diabetic involves issues in married life? My doctor says a no. What are your answers?
    How to I create an awareness about it...? Please help.

Thanks,
    Priyanka

2. phoenix

phoenix Type 1 · Expert

Priyankakedia,