How Can I Keep My Sugars High Enough For Long Painting And Decorating

wes18

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi there I’m t1 and when I’m doing painting for long periods my levels go low constantly has any one any ideas for me to keep my levels high enough to do long periods of painting without risking hypos over long periods of time while using energy pls and thks in advance

Reactions: Freema

wes18

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi sorry I forgot to mention this is my first time posting on this forum

DCUKMod

Master
Staff Member
Type of diabetes
I reversed my Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only
Hi Wes, and welcome aboard.

I'm not a T1, but would sipping some squash, or the like, as you go along work to keep your levels up? (I'm assuming your levels are pretty OK ta other times?)

wes18

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi Wes, and welcome aboard.

I'm not a T1, but would sipping some squash, or the like, as you go along work to keep your levels up? (I'm assuming your levels are pretty OK ta other times?)

Thks for the welcome and comment DCUKMod, ya my levels aren’t bad like but when I do any long period of physical things my sugars drop really fast, like I can only go to the gym after my breakfast when my sugars are high other wise there drop pretty fast if I haven’t eaten before doing anything physical

wes18

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
I am 100% insulin dependent and use creon before eating my pancreas isn’t working at all

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes
Hypos, rude people, ignorance and grey days.
Hi @wes18 and welcome :)

Rather than running high which can be detrimental to your health in the long term - what about reducing your basal insulin if your in a bolus/basal routine ?

Reactions: wes18

Juicyj

Expert
Retired Moderator
Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Dislikes