How do you balance teaching and your diabetes?

sheepareevil

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes
People who are not polite/ have no manners
I'm a secondary school history teacher who was only diagnosed in January with Type 1 diabetes. My sugars are well controlled and in most aspects I am coping well with my job. However, I am hoping to get some advice from other teachers that are living with diabetes. At the end of last term I had an incident where I had a Hypo whilst teaching a year 7 class.
What had happened is that I had detentions at break and then duty for the first half of lunch time. For the second half of lunch I was guilt tripped into attending a meeting (Because you had over a month off you missed this important meeting and we really need to fill you in. This is the only time we can do it blah blah blah) being told i would be able to eat my lunch i injected before the meeting. We then spent the whole 20 mins wandering around and I did not have chance to eat. I know that I could have said something to them about needing to eat but the school is very high pressured, my contract is only till summer and I am hoping that they will extend it and finally I've already been made to feel guilty enough about my being away. I then had no choice but to teach my year 7 class as there was no one else around and they can be a tricky class.
I have complained to the school and made clear the problems ( not least how worried some of the pupils were when i was swaying etc)

I love teaching, especially in schools where the pressure is higher due to behaviour problems etc, but i am really freaked out now by the prospect of more situations like this. Before i was diagnosed out of the 5 days a week I would only usually eat lunch about twice because I have a lot of teenagers coming to me for advice or support.