how high and how low have you been?

the.candy.man

After 2 years of failing to controll by any measure, and after being given conflicting advice and storys by everybody on the matter, i am curious as to actual diabetics experiences, and not that all too farmiliar line of "oh, well my aunts hairdressers friend says that..." or something similar.

my questions are,

what is your highest known level?
&
what is your lowest known level?

also, how high have you been without feeling symptoms, and how low have you been and still been able to function.

hanadr

Expert
Dislikes
soaps on telly and people talking about the characters as if they were real.
My highest known level was 20. that was 10 years ago in hospital following a stroke and foolishly allowing them to manage my diabetes. It's not been above 7 for several years. My lowest is 2.9. I don't use any medication that could cause a real hypo.
since I keep tight control, I have no real experience of whqat either very high or very low blood glucose feels like. I can tell if I drop to 3.5 that I'm hungry. that's about it
Hana

Daibell

Master
Type of diabetes
LADA
Treatment type
Insulin
Hi. My highest was around 23 a few weeks back. My lowest was something like 4 a good few years ago. I had no symptoms at either the high or low point.

karen13

Just started testing a week ago , lowest this morning 5.9 highest today after breakfast of 2 slices wholemeal toast 22.9 , getting fed up of this, food controlles for 1 year no meds ..... and numbers usually around 14 -17. Generally feel ok apart from dry mouth and drinking lots and the biggest thing is insomnia ...... it drives nme crazy.

SamJB

Type of diabetes
Type 1
Treatment type
Pump
Highest 32 after beer and food a few years ago. Lowest, must have been about 1 when I had a fit when first diagnosed. I've been at 1.4 and still concious. Just.

I've had bouts of hypo unaware where I've been at 2.5 without feeling it.

Sarah69

Type of diabetes
Treatment type
Insulin
Dislikes