How to be diplomatic with DN/Doctor

MPH

As I've only recently been diagnosed as type 2 with a HbA1c of 53 I've started on LCHF diet
dropped 18pounds or 8.16 kilo in three weeks
bp dropped from 140/90 to 128/77
bg 14 day average 4.9 from home testing

When diagnosed had the usual info from Doc and DN about carbs, then looked on here and ignored what they said I should do.

If I try to explain the reasons for this as " Just because you've got anti venom for snake bites would you suggest playing with snakes" does this indicate I should eat carbs because you've got medication to counteract them?

Although this is meant as a bit of humour I can't help feeling the response may be to follow the guidelines. This is not doing anything to help people with T2 in my circumstances when controlled by diet but told you will end up on medication.

I appreciate I'm only new to dealing with being T2 but as a control to this point of view when following DN advise on porridge in morning three days after diagnosis tested FBg was 6.9 , two hours later Bg was 14.6 and head was pounding.

So when my next appointment comes through is it worth trying the above analogy or just nod , smile and ignore or state the facts and suggest they leave me to stand or fall by my own results.

M

Reactions: 2 people

mo53

Expert
Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Tablets (oral)
@MPH lol I get on very well with my diabetic nurse. She talks about eat well plates and I talk about lchf . We both smile and nod but it's like parallel lines. Lol

Gezzabelle

Type of diabetes
Prediabetes
Treatment type
Diet only
I listen...( to their bs, ignorance and bad advice ) and then go home and eat LCHF :D....I get results....doing it their way I wouldn't ;)

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Diet only