I fell off the low-carb wagon...

markd

I've been low-carbing successfully (and daily exercise) for many months now, lost 80 pounds in weight, my BG readings between 4.4 and 4.9 ( either fasting, 1, 2, or 3 hours after a meal). My doc dropped me from two down to one Metformin per day, as I still had gut-rot, but now I take it mid-meal, that is much better.

I have another 20 pounds to lose to get down to my target BMI of 23, which I should do by the Spring. My aim, of course, is to get off Metformin completely, if I can.

Been on only one Met for a couple of weeks now, my average BG has crept up a fraction (0.1 or 0.2) but I twisted my ankle badly last week so very little exercise for 10 days.

Last night, I fell off the low-carb wagon for the first time; I had three large bacon baguettes for supper, followed by a M&S 400g melon and grape fruit salad, in total, somewhere between 180 and 200g of carbs! (one x 500g Metformin, mid-meal)

At one hour, I tested at 6.9 and at two hours, back down to 6.2 - didn't test at three hours as it was quite late, so went to bed. 11 hours fasting, and I was at 5.1 this morning.

I'm wondering just how high that would have spiked if I'd not taken the Metformin, any thoughts?

I also read somewhere (but can't remember where) that you get an artificially high spike the first time you have a high-carb meal after a proloned low-carb regime and that maybe you should knock off 0.5 from the reading to compensate.

I'd like to think that is the case, or my hopes of surviving on diet/exercise only may not be looking too good. Any guesses?

Dennis

Type of diabetes
Type 2
Treatment type
Non-insulin injectable medication (incretin mimetics)
Dislikes
People who join web forums to be agressive and cause trouble
Hi Mark,